This site requires the Adobe Flash Player.
straightegyptians

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Advice On Cantering Under Saddle
Lysette
post May 17 2007, 10:12 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 402

I'm working on getting my mare to canter under saddle and need a bit of advice. Moon is 10 years old and before I got her a year ago she only had a few weeks under saddle and riding was not yet a "normal" thing to her. I've been riding her pretty regularly for the past 8 months or so. We've been going quite slowly with things because while I have several years of riding experience, all of it was under the guidance of riding instructors. Plus, I'm simply not in a rush and having fun and enjoying my first horse is more important than meeting any timetables. She's been cantering well under saddle while being free lunged for several weeks and is good at the walk and trot with me in the saddle. The past couple of time I've ridden her, I've tried to get her to canter with me on her, and that hasn't gone as well. When I give her the verbal cue, she basically will just trot faster. The first time I finally got her to canter about 1/4 of the straightaway in an inside area. Today she just wanted to rush around at the trot and I may have gotten a few canter steps out of her. I'm working hard at just sitting still in the saddle so as not to throw her off and making sure she has plenty of rein so I do not jerk on her accidentally. I'm wondering what my next step should be.

Options:

A) Keep cantering her on the ground and continue working on her balance under saddle.
Positive: Safe, improving her balance and sharpness to verbal commands can only be a good thing.
Negative: May just be postponing the inevitable roughness of starting something new. I've never worked with a horse just learning to canter under saddle, so I'm not entirely certain how much to expect from her. She may be reacting in an entirely normal manner.