This site requires the Adobe Flash Player.
straightegyptians

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

8 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Conformation, Confirmation....please!
gajustice
post Jul 19 2012, 11:09 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 41310

I am just getting started in the Arabian Horse breeding end of the business and I am wondering; where in the world are all the conformation shots?!?!?!? I have only seen a hand full of stallions that show anything from the neck down and those stallions are all moving or there tail is in your face.

I would like to start off by saying that as far as Im concerned, a show record is the absolute last thing I look for in a stallion prospect. I dont take chances on unproven stallions unless they possess superior conformation. I would rather pay for a higher stud fee on a proven stallion, but as stated earlier there are simply no conformation shots. Based off numerous websites the only thing that breeders are offering to the general public is pretty heads. Sorry, but I cant ride a head!

I know that Arabians are advertised with a certain "style", I get that; but come on. I want the choices that I make to be based off of conformation not who has the prettiest, most expensive ad campaign. I am more than able to travel to see potential prospects but dont want to be let down after traveling to find a sub-par stallion.

I can look at the videos, but I need something I can print off and spread out over the dining room table and compare. This method has served me well in the past, I used to show Quarter Horses in Western Pleasure. I have now been able to focus on my first true love, the Arabian. Unfortunately, do to my family's business in the QH world I had break away to follow my true passion.

I am not ignorant to the horse world nor the Arabian world, just wondering why people will not post confirmation shots.

Thanks in advance for your input.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
2mntn