Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Performance Sire Lines: What Were The Faults?
StraightEgyptians.com Forum > Overview - Übersicht > Discussion - Diskussion
caszan2
Greetings All,

In yet another attempt to learn from so many active in this forum. What faults did these champion horses have (no horse is perfect) that would carry on, perhaps several generations on? What should I look for in my Stallion (because I am not an expert). This is my first Arabian horse, a SE and I am trying to learn about breed standard what is or is not acceptable.

Example: What is "cow-hocked" What break-down would it cause and how much "turn" in is too much (touching each other I imagine sad.gif I understand what "off-set" cannons are, "back-at-the-knee" and how to meassure for a balanced horse via Richard Shrake (Western QH judge/breeder).

Our boy was what I would call "slightly" turned in at the hocks, but his feet had not been properly trimmed, allowed the rear toe to grow too long. Our farrier stated that this is "common" in Arabian horses. He has kept all his feet at approperate angles "Trimmed to the horse" for what is natural. I would welcome some opinions on this as well. Should a correct SE have a longer toe in the rear?

Because I am new to this, I would welcome a discussion or advise on Joints, my horse has big joints (no creaking sounds yet) biggrin.gif Is this normal? I have owned about every other breed possible heavier breeds that naturally had more muscling, less "visable" joints.

Here is the sire line and dam sire lines of my horse:
What faults (published or "saw it for myself") did any of these horses have?

Sabiell (heard he was "Long in the back"...but a decent mover")
Nabiel
*Sakr+++
*Sultann
Sameh
El Moez
(to Rabdan)

Dam Sire line
Theegyptianprince
*Morafic
Nazeer
Mashour

There are many others in the pedigree Sire of Dam's are not all listed here.
There are two horses that I can't find much information on An Monte Cristo