Chris Wesley
Apr 23 2004, 09:16 PM
Can anyone offer any advice .......I have a mare offered for sale on the net and in the last few days I have had a few emails from a dealer buying for a client , the dealer is from ..Cotonou,Benin-Republic ....can anyone enlighten me on where this is please.
I'm a little concerned as to the terms this man is wanting as I remember a scam some time ago .
He has said that he is charging the buyer a price which is my asking price + his commision . He states that he will get the buyer to do a bank transfer for all monies including his commision to my bank account (therefore he requests my Bank details)and on clearing into my account I am to transferr to his(dealer) account his commision immediately the funds clear.
Has anyone experinced a similar situation or email?
Any advice greatly appreciated
HLM
Apr 23 2004, 09:27 PM
It'a scam!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Hansi
Rhoni
Apr 23 2004, 09:30 PM
Sounds v. suspicious to me!
I've copied this in from another forum which apparently one is not allowed to refer to by name here!!
"I have recently put my horse for sale with Arabline and received this email please see below, the con is you give them 4k back and their cheque bounces, they take your horse and your money and never see either again, it also happens with cars, so beware all sellers
I am willing to buy your AL PASHA for £2,000 my mode of payment will lays on certified cashier' check drawn in U.K funds , i will be informing my client in U.K who be forwarding a check of £6,000 to you on my behave , i will be handling the shipping, and every relevant title, if you want me to forward the check to you, i want you to give me the name that will be on cheque and your physical address which you will like to recieve the cheque ,but if you will prefer to receive the check in your bank i will want you to provide all the necessary info concerning your bank (bank name and address ,account #and rounting #, so that i can order my client to wire the payment to your bank asap.more over the balance on the excess funds will be base on shipping bcos they are having other consignment for me to ! do the pick up, the shipper's will be incharges of sign all relevant document,i will like to know if may mode of payment is accepted by you or not . i will really appreiciate your instant response. Thanks
Yahoo! Messenger"
Liz Salmon
Apr 23 2004, 10:12 PM
Don't touch it !! It's a certain scam. Liz Salmon
Josje
Apr 23 2004, 10:13 PM
It's definately a scam !!! Look here :
http://www.bustedupcowgirl.com/scampage.html and you will find many examples of those scammers ! Big fun to read those stories !
Liz Salmon
Apr 23 2004, 10:25 PM
Benin is in Africa, where most of these scams are coming from.
allisonmehta
Apr 23 2004, 11:13 PM
Dear Chris,
Yes, it is a scam. What they will do is send you the "cashiers cheque" which is a fake (either stolen cashiers cheques from a real bank or drawn on a fake bank). You, of course, deposit the cheque--and then must send off the commission (or, often, the cost of the horse's transport--which is always at least $5,000) via wire transfer to their account.
And, the fake cashiers cheque bounces in a couple of days and you're out $5,000 or more. "Buyer" has long since disappeared into some rat hole.
I had a recent experience where a buyer in Texas (using very broken English) emailed me wanting to not buy just one black colt we had for sale--but another SE (which we had never advertised) as well. "Another adult horse for breeding" was how they put it. No request for prepurchase exam, videos, photos, or seeing the horses before they wrote a cheque for the whole amount (which would have been over US $75,000). The client who owned one of the colts dearly loves his horses and said he wanted to meet anyone who was buying h-i-s horse. So--we pressured the buyer to come to our farm and view these horses. (Which is what any buyer spending in that price range should do, I believe--forget videos,, photos, and friend's opinions.)
Well, eager buyer in Texas just couldn't seem to spend a very minimal amount of money to travel to Atlanta to see our horses...not for a while anyway. That was two months ago. I knew it was a scam from the beginning...and this seems a good way to flush them out. No deal until they see your horses and meet with the owners. If I were buying an expensive Arabian horse, I would be on a plane within days to look the horse over way before I wrote a cheque.
Just my experience...and it's not just horses. We get faxes and emails about the same kind of schemes in another business I own all the time! (Interestingly, most seem to prefer "hotmail" addresses). <_<
Allison of Talaria
Chris Wesley
Apr 24 2004, 07:46 PM
Thanks every one I had my doubts , luckily theres other interest , I will just ignore this scam.............cheers
Acorn Arabians
Apr 25 2004, 06:15 PM
It defo a scam Chris, dont for goodness sake give them any bank details they clean your account out, or give you a dud cheque which does clear buit its forged and when its discovered they have long gone , and you have to face the authorities. very very crafty scammers.
Helen
www.acornarabians.com
sharonpietarila@yahoo.com
Apr 26 2004, 05:46 PM
Scam-similar thing from UK for a horse I had listed on Yahoo.....Turn it over to the authorities...sorry, but if you don't you will be SORRY!
Chris Wesley
Apr 26 2004, 08:31 PM
My mare has now sold , to a lady from cheshire . She has also purchased 2 others along with the mare . Many thanks to all that enquired . The first person that took the time to visit !!!! It just shows there is still a market for good animals heres a picture.
Chris Wesley
Apr 26 2004, 08:33 PM
pic 1
Chris Wesley
Apr 26 2004, 08:34 PM
pic 2
Chris Wesley
Apr 26 2004, 08:35 PM
pic 3
Chris Wesley
Apr 26 2004, 08:44 PM
pic 4 .......
Montanna , by BNC & UK Int Champion CAS Sabur x DBA Fabienne
The other is a 4yr old Fillyby Mo ntanna x DBA Rashida her name DBA My One N Only........We wish them all the very best
Sorry no photo , I thought members would like to see them.
Guest
Nov 10 2006, 06:37 PM
I'm just amazed that a person would be stupid enough to forward money before a cheque has cleared in there account.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.